Ministry of Education & National Reconciliation

Halifax Street, Kingstown Saint Vincent and the Grenadines



PRESS RELEASE

For more information, contact:

(784) 457-1466 or

(784) 456-1111 Ext: 3386 Email: edumediaunit@gmail.com

23rd October 2023

<u>Sixty-six students to be awarded at the Schools' Independence</u> <u>Rally</u>

Sixty-six (66) awards will be presented at the Schools' Independence Rally to graduates of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Community College (SVGCC) who excelled in the 2023 Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE), as well as the Associate Degree and Teacher Education programmes.

This year; 26 National Scholarships, 7 Exhibition Awards, 4 Special Awards and 29 Bursaries have been awarded. The most outstanding of the National Scholars will receive the Prime Minister's gold medal and a cash prize of \$20,000 in addition to the five-year National Scholarship. There are two top scholars this year in the persons of Elzicho DeBique and David Dunn.

The following are the 2023 scholarship recipients:

NATIONAL SCHOLARSHIPS

1	<u>AIIUNAL SCHULAKSHIPS</u>	<u>)</u>
	1. Elzicho De Bique	Prime Minister's Award
	2. David Dunn	Prime Minister's Award
	3. Joshua Small	The Garth Saunders Award
	4. Tai Ballantyne	The Vaughn Toney Award
	5. Solomon Bascombe	The Elaine Connell Award
	6. Ramiro Georges	The Peter Ballantyne Award
	7. Emma Rouse	The Peggy Ince-Hull Award
	8. Janica Browne	The Ercelle John-Thomas Award
	9. Eduardo Gibbons	The Inspector Henry Providence Award
	10.Giovanni Slack	The Hugh Wyllie Award
	11.Luke Wilson	The Elvis Daniel Award
	12.Marika Baptiste	The Louise Toney Award
	13.Aturo Parsons	The Olivia Bentick Award
	14.Runel Primus	The James Daniel Award
	15.Jadiah Sampson	The Edgerton Scott Award
	16.Kajé Jack	The Alfred John Award
	17.Cayla Morris	The O.T Mayers Award
	18.Matthew Washington	The Oswald Nanton Award
	19.Jeremy Abbott	The Viola John Award
	20.Kwèsi James	The Nigel Greaves Award
	21.Mikhael Neeme	The Clement Ballah Award
	22.Michael Sanyour	The Winston Bacchus Award
	23.Noah Hadley	The Shirley Layne Award
	24.Amanda Medford	The Patrick DaSilva Award
	25.Tawana Richards	The Fwd: RLetchie & Dorothy Dickson Award
	26.Winnessa James	The Kenneth & Norma Jackson Award

EXHIBITION SCHOLARSHIP

- 1. Tyrese Fiedtkou
- 2. Colin Lewis
- 3. Jomarie Tash
- 4. Eroy John
- 5. Darius Dasouza
- 6. Eldricka JackFwd: R
- 7. Stephanique Ince

SPECIAL AWARDS

- 1. Aneka Neptune
- 2. Sylvorne Johnson
- 3. Deanna Williams
- 4. Cameron Bruce

BURSARIES

- 1. Akayla Crichton
- 2. Gemariah Harry
- 3. Renaldo Providence
- 4. Rebecca Sassine
- 5. Kerricia Thomas
- 6. Myah Bullock
- 7. Zavorn Campbell
- 8. Aaliyah Dickson
- 9. Rasheed George
- 10. Alleika Johnson
- 11. Elritha Davis
- 12.Phyliscia PlacideFwd: R
- 13.Odinga Williams
- 14. Serena Lyttle
- 15. Karlson Greaves
- 16. Kiara Burnette
- 17. Avont Phillips
- 18. Rossana Veira
- 19. Ivan Jobe
- 20.Lisa Jacobs
- 21. Sherri-Ann Ollivierre
- 22. Kallise Knights
- 23.Andrew Mapp
- 24. Mya Pompey
- 25. Janniah Ollivierre
- 26.Marsha Marshall
- 27. Danica Shallow
- 28.De Vere James
- 29. Odano Baptiste

These awards will be officially presented during the Schools' Independence Rally carded for Tuesday 24 October at the Victoria Park beginning at 9:00 a.m.