The Ministry of Education/Hodder Education Grade 6 Writing competition draws to a close on Wednesday, 31st January, with the finals and closing ceremony.

The competition saw fifty-two schools (52), an increase from last year’s thirty-nine (39) schools, across seven zones in the preliminary round, vie for ten places in the finals. This year’s finalists are:

  1. Faith Hutchinson – Stephanie Browne Primary School
  2. Javid Harry – Fitz-Hughes Government School
  3. Amira Harry - Windsor Primary School
  4. Dakota Tucker - Westwood Methodist School
  5. Hadassah Ollivierre - Lower Bay Inc.
  6. Chase Franklyn - Belair Government School
  7. Hazel Clarke - Georgetown Government School
  8. Kalicia Rodgers – Petersville Primary School
  9. Quizron Williams – Dickson Methodist School
  10. Nina Delves – St. Mary’s Roman Catholic School

The students will first write their pieces at the Curriculum Development Unit Conference Room at 9:00 a.m. in the morning, then the winners will then be announced at the Closing Ceremony at The Frenches House in the afternoon at 1:30 p.m.; where the winners will also read their pieces. Other prizes compliments Hodder Education will be awarded at the closing ceremony.

Zahandra Roberts of the Kingstown Preparatory School was last year’s winner.